Rivers Hoopers make history with BAL

Sunday, 16 February 2020

/ by Colin

The Basketball Africa has unveiled the 12 teams that will take part in its inaugural season which tips off March 13 in Dakar, Senegal.

Representing Nigeria at the historic competition will be Rivers Hoopers.

The Port Harcourt-based club are one of six champions from national leagues in six countries – Angola, Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia – who were guaranteed representation in the inaugural BAL season. 

The remaining six teams, which come from Algeria, Cameroon, Madagascar, Mali, Mozambique and Rwanda, secured their participation through BAL qualifying tournaments conducted by FIBA Africa across the continent in late 2019.

“This is a historic moment as we welcome the 12 teams that will participate in our inaugural season,” said BAL President Amadou Gallo Fall. “These teams have earned the opportunity to represent their respective countries and will establish the BAL as a world-class product that entertains fans of all ages when the season tips off March 13.”

NIKE and Jordan Brand, the BAL’s exclusive on-court outfitter, today unveiled the official BAL uniforms. NIKE and Jordan Brand will outfit the league’s 12 teams with official game uniforms, warmup apparel, socks and practice gear, with six teams featured in NIKE and the other six teams in Jordan Brand. The collaboration with NIKE and Jordan Brand marks the BAL’s first partnership.


The BAL has also launched the league’s official website and social media accounts. Fans can now follow the BAL @theBAL on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook and register their interest in receiving more information at


The inaugural BAL regular season will take place in Cairo (Egypt), Dakar (Senegal), Lagos (Nigeria), Luanda (Angola), Monastir (Tunisia) and SalĂ© (Morocco). Kigali (Rwanda) will host the first-ever BAL Playoffs and Finals. 


The BAL will debut with 12 club teams from across Africa divided into two conferences, with each conference playing in three cities. Each team will play five games in the regular season, facing every team in its conference once. The top four teams in each conference will qualify for the single-elimination playoffs in Kigali, Rwanda.


Additional details about the BAL including full game schedule is expected to be announced in the coming weeks.



Next Story Older Post Home

No comments

Post a Comment

Get In Touch
Don't Miss
© All rights reserved
Made with by ColinUdoh